Wake up Laura.

I can taste stale breath and have a burning sensation sitting in the back of my throat, my eyes bloodshot and so heavy almost dry with no tears left to cry.

There is nothing about this situation that feels real, I’m in disbelief. I’m talking but all of my words feel like lies as they roll off my tongue.

What do I do mum? I have to be on this course for work, I have to be here, it’s been paid for … I can’t leave.

It’s funny how some people when faced with the worst issues still can only see the bigger picture. I had been given an amazing opportunity to go on a course to learn and better myself, I knew I had to be there and do this but that meant being alone.

My parents are begging me to come home, they are so far away and to drop everything to drive to me is such … in my head … an impractical thing for them to do.

They want to help me so much with my decision but the only one who knows what’s right is me.

Divorce. Kick him out. But what if it’s a lie? Stop being so naive. But you love him. How could he do this to you? It’s not real … this is not real … wake up Laura.

Wake up.

Leave a comment