That’s what friends are for.

The phone is ringing but I’m still at a loss for what to say.

Everything is such a blur, I am not even sure at this point how to tell my best friends. She’s heavily pregnant and has a life of her own, I don’t want to burden her with my issues but no one knows me quite like she does.

She answers the phone, it’s quite late but she still answers in her soothing chirpy tone that calms me the minute I hear her voice. I’m still not sure what I am about to say but I have to ask her to make sure she has time to talk. I remember saying “are you sitting down”?

What follows is a bit like a blur, the words falling out of my mouth, silence, I know instantly the confusion and pain even she is feeling not understanding how to deal with that situation.

I explain everything to her in detail, the fake dating profile, the exchange of messages and pictures, the fact he would leave me at home some nights to ‘work’ when he was really seeing her.

I explain my situation, how I feel like I just cannot leave all the while she’s begging me to come home, she knows what’s good for me but I feel nothing but guilt.

I finish our call and sit on the bed, one last phone call to my mum to hear her soothing voice before I decided to try to sleep.

I’m so thankful to have these two friends in my life, she texts me to let me know she’s there.

After all, that’s what friends are for.

Leave a comment